World RPS Bullboard
News: Society News: Alex Apter seen "back on the job", may also have just been digging through dumpster for food / shelter.

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. October 25, 2014, 04:46:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Data on past tournaments?  (Read 9683 times)
landoni

View Profile
« on: February 16, 2010, 11:40:06 PM »

Dear Fellows,

I have been reading the WorldRPS Forum for some time today. It seems that it should be possible to obtain data on past tournaments, including the history of play (an example of it is on the home page of worldrps.com where I learn that Tim Conrad played RRRP-RPPP). Do you know where I could get such data?

EXPLANATION: I am a PhD student in Finance at Columbia. I am currently studying Game Theory and I've been thinking about looking at how people play RPS when something is at stake to see what is hardwired in people's brain and what is instead the object of rational choices. In fact, there is often something at stake (the other day I was able to skip a class by winning a game, the other person got to go and take notes for me). But in official championships there is more than that at stake, so you'd think people should be behaving as rationally as they can.
Master Roshambollah
Greatest Player in RPS History (retired)
Global Moderator
Bullboard Legend

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 01:37:45 AM »

WELCOME, SEEKER...

Just fair warning that you're not being ignored.  You pose an interesting question, and one most deserving of a well-considered response.  There are probably already several Professional Players who are are half waiting until they have time to make such a response and half waiting for someone else to make it first.